Wednesday, January 6, 2010

University of Agriculture, Faisalabad (UAF) - - One of The Largest Agricultural Universities in Asia

The University of Agriculture, Faisalabad (UAF) is a university in the city of Faisalabad, Punjab, Pakistan. The first major institution of higher agricultural education was the Punjab Agricultural College and Research Institute which was founded in 1906 in the undivided Punjab, before partition in 1947.

At independence in 1947 Pakistan was a primarily agricultural country and in spite subsequent industrialization and development, agriculture remains central to its economy. After independence; the Government of Pakistan appointed National Commissions on Food and Education with the terms of reference to review, in all its outcomes, the prevailing agrarian system and to formulate measures for developing the full potential of our agricultural resources. The Commissions made a strong plea for establishing an Agricultural university which could play a more vigorous role in promoting research and education in Agriculture was established by upgrading the former Punjab Agricultural College and Research Institute in the year 1961-62.

The University's faculty comprises more than 500 teachers of whom 224 hold Ph.D. degrees mainly from foreign universities.

The University is organised into faculties of Agriculture, Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology, Agricultural Engineering and Technology, Animal Husbandry, Veterinary Science, Sciences, and a Division of Education and Extension all located at the main campus in Faisalabad, and College of Veterinary Sciences at Lahore. These academic units offer a variety of study programmes leading to B.Sc. Agricultural Engineering, D.V.M., B.Sc. (Hons.), M.Phil, and Ph.D. degrees in various disciplines of agriculture and allied fields.


Faculty of Agriculture

This faculty, the largest of all academic units, is responsible for conducting research on all aspects of crop production; teaching is undertaken at both under- and post-graduate levels by its various departments namely, Agronomy, Plant Breeding & Genetics, Plant Pathology, Agricultural Entomology, Horticulture, Soil Science, Forestry, Range Management, and Wildlife and Crop Physiology. The Faculty offers the undergraduate degree of B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture and post-graduate degrees of M.Sc. (Hons.) and Ph.D. in various agricultural disciplines.

Faculty of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology

The five constituent departments of the faculty are Agricultural Economics, Cooperation and Credit, Agricultural Marketing, Farm Management, and Rural Sociology. The Faculty offers courses in the subjects of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology at graduate and postgraduate levels.

The Faculty provides supporting courses for students enrolled in other Faculties. The Faculty also offers M.A. degrees in Economics and Sociology as evening college. A data-processing centre is attached to the Faculty. M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees are offered in different disciplines.

Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Technology

The Faculty includes departments of Structural and Environmental Engineering, Irrigation and Drainage, Food Technology, Farm Machinery, and Power and Fibre Technology.

The Faculty offers courses of studies, leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering; M.Sc. in Food Technology, Fibre Technology, Agricultural Engineering; and Doctor of Philosophy in Food Technology and Agricultural Engineering.

In B.Sc. (Agricultural Engineering) the same fundamental courses are taught as in other engineering institutions with emphasis on agricultural problems including water management, farm machinery and food processing.

Faculty of Veterinary Science

The Faculty includes the department of Veterinary Anatomy, Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology, Veterinary Pathology, Veterinary Parasitology, Veterinary Microbiology, Veterinary Clinical Medicine and Surgery, and Animal Reproduction. Candidates having a degree in biological sciences are considered for postgraduate admission in non-clinical subjects.
In this faculty, the students are enrolled for the degree of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.) and for M.Sc(Hons.) and Ph.D. degrees in various disciplines.

Faculty of Animal Husbandry

The Faculty consists of four departments, viz. Animal Breeding and Genetics, Livestock Management, Animal Nutrition, and Poultry Husbandry.

This Faculty offers the degree of B.Sc. (Hons.) Animal Husbandry at the graduate level. It also offers supporting courses for students of D.V.M and B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture. It provides training the research facilities concerning livestock, poultry and their products to various departments in the University and provide advisory services to livestock and poultry farmers. Postgraduate courses leading to M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees are offered by all the four departments in the faculty.

Faculty of Sciences

The Faculty includes the departments of Botany, Zoology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Statistics, Business Management Sciences, Computer Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, and Islamic Studies.

The Faculty offers undergraduate courses in physical, biological and social sciences and postgraduate degree programmes in Botany, Zoology and Fisheries, Chemistry, Bio-Chemistry, Physics, Statistics, Computer Science, Business Management and Commerce.

Graduates of pure sciences from other institutions are eligible for admission to courses leading to M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees. Graduates having a relevant Bachelor's degree may also seek admission to MBA and M.Com. degree programmes.


Anonymous said...

i love AGRICULTURE UNIVERSITY it gave me the identity

Shahid Mahmood Butt said...

Thanks for your comments.

I will appreciate; if you will share few good moments spent in Agriculture University.

Rizwan ali said...

I really appreciate this blog posting and agree cultural university Faisalabad
university admission

numanumar32 said...

Dear friend i get admi in dvm on self please tel me thanks

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...